New York Electricity Rates
Rate data for New York is being refreshed. The regulator and market facts below are current; figures return with the next data load.

Can you choose your electricity supplier in New York?
Yes. New York opened its retail electricity market in 1996 under Power to Choose NY, so you can buy the supply portion of your bill from a competitive supplier while your utility keeps delivering the power and handling outages.
ElectricRates.org does not yet list New York plans. We add states as our enrollment partner brings their utilities online; you can compare and switch today in Massachusetts, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington DC.
Rates and rules are overseen by the New York Public Service Commission. Major utilities: Con Edison, National Grid, NYSEG, RG&E, Central Hudson, Orange & Rockland. Grid operator: NYISO.
Get notified when New York plans go live
One email when you can compare and switch here. Nothing else.
Notify meNew York lets you shop for an ESCO supplier, but PSC rules in effect since April 16, 2021 confine residential offers to guaranteed-savings, capped fixed-rate or renewable products, and in a municipality with a CCA program you may be auto-enrolled with a supplier chosen for the town unless you opt out — while the utility, not the supplier, still sends the bill and sets the delivery charge.
Who will deliver your power in New York
The utility is fixed by your address. These are the largest in the state, with what each says it needs from a new customer.
Con Edisoninvestor-owned
All of New York City and Westchester County, directly north of the city. About 3.6 million customers across a 604-square-mile territory (per Con Edison Corporate Facts).
Con Edison asks for your new address, your move-in date and a valid form of identification; if you do not have an ID you will need to pay a deposit. If service is currently in your landlord's name, Con Edison transfers ownership to you automatically.
Start service with Con Edison →National Grid (Upstate New York)investor-owned
Upstate New York (the company's Upstate NY electric and natural gas territory).
National Grid says to schedule a start, stop or transfer up to a week before you move and asks for 5-7 days' notice so it can schedule a crew visit. Have your legal name as shown on your Social Security card, your Social Security number and your driver's license ready; business properties and common areas of multi-family homes must call 1-800-664-6729.
Start service with National Grid →Sources: nationalgridus.com, nationalgridus.com, nationalgridus.com, nationalgridus.com
PSEG Long Islandpublic power district
Long Island and the Rockaways, operated by PSEG Long Island under contract to the Long Island Power Authority (LIPA); LIPA's service excludes the Villages of Rockville Centre, Freeport and Greenport. About 1.2 million customers (per LIPA).
The online start form asks for your Social Security number, or else two forms of ID including at least one photo ID, and a lease or deed may be requested; your first bill arrives within the first 30 days of service. Time-of-Day (TOD) is the standard rate for all new residential accounts, and customer service is 1-800-490-0025.
Start service with PSEG Long Island →Sources: psegliny.com, psegliny.com, lipower.org
Orange & Rocklandinvestor-owned
Describes itself as a utility company serving greater New York; the county-level territory is not stated on the pages verified here.
O&R says you need a valid Social Security number to start service and will bill you a deposit if you start service without identification, unless you sign up for Direct Pay; it also says no deposit is necessary if you are older than 62 or enroll in a Direct Payment Plan. Online start requests are only taken within 60 days of the date you want service (call 1-877-434-4100 if planning further ahead). If service is currently in your landlord's name, ownership transfers to you automatically.
Start service with Orange & Rockland →New York State Electric & Gas (NYSEG)investor-owned
More than 40% of upstate New York — 44 counties, 160 cities/villages and 406 towns; NYSEG is a subsidiary of Avangrid. About 921,402 electricity customers and 271,926 natural gas customers (per NYSEG Service Area page); the Company Overview says more than 1.1 million customers across upstate New York.
NYSEG's Moving page says to use its Turn Service On link to start new service or make changes to existing service, and that its secure My Account area needs a User ID and password; the Start Service link in the site navigation opens the My Account portal at portal.nyseg.com/start/welcome. The FAQ says to click Turn On Service and follow the instructions, or call the Customer Relations Center at 800.572.1111, Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. excluding holidays. The archived pages do not state ID, deposit or lead-time requirements.
Start service with New York State Electric & Gas →Sources: nyseg.com, nyseg.com, nyseg.com, nyseg.com, portal.nyseg.com
Rochester Gas and Electric (RG&E)investor-owned
A nine-county region centered on the City of Rochester — 9 counties, 34 cities/villages and 78 towns; RG&E is a subsidiary of Avangrid. About 393,145 electricity customers and 325,838 natural gas customers (per RG&E Service Area page); the Company Overview says more than 700,000 customers across upstate New York.
RG&E's Moving page says to have on hand for an online start request: the address where service will be established, the billing address if different, the service start date, your Social Security Number, a second form of identification (e.g., driver's license number), the name and SSN of any other person who will be authorized to access the account, and a phone number; the Start service button opens the secure online form at portal.rge.com/start/welcome, and business customers should call. To stop service you give the end date and an email or mailing address for the final bill. If you later move to an area served by another utility and have been a customer in good standing, RG&E can issue a letter of credit that may reduce or eliminate deposits the new utility normally requires. No deposit rule or lead time for new RG&E customers is stated.
Start service with Rochester Gas and Electric →Central Hudson Gas & Electricinvestor-owned
New York's mid-Hudson Valley: a defined territory that stretches from the northern suburbs of New York City to the Capital District near Albany. About 315,000 electric customers and 90,000 natural gas customers (per Central Hudson).
Central Hudson's Start, Stop or Transfer Service page says residential customers must have an official form of ID (such as a driver's license, Social Security number, state ID number or passport), the exact address of the new residence including apartment number if applicable, and emergency contact information before beginning a Start Service application, and that signing in gives a quicker experience. Choose Start Service for a previously occupied home with an existing meter (then pick Home or Business); Transfer Service is only for moving between two Central Hudson-served properties and cannot move an account from one person to another — the current holder must stop service and the new holder must submit their own start request. A property with no meter goes through the New Service Requests forms instead. The page does not state a deposit rule or lead time.
Start service with Central Hudson Gas & Electric →Sources: cenhud.com, cenhud.com, cenhud.com
Deposits, ID, and supplier choice in New York
Deposits. Under HEFPA a utility may require a deposit only in limited cases (for example, if your service was shut off for non-payment within the past six months, if you missed two or more bills in a row without paying at least half, or if you are a short-term or seasonal customer), must warn you in writing 20 days in advance, and the deposit cannot exceed twice the average monthly bill. Utilities cannot require a deposit from recipients of public assistance or SSI, or from customers 62 or older unless their service was shut off for non-payment within the past six months; they must pay interest on deposits and refund the deposit plus interest after a year if you have not been behind on payments. (dps.ny.gov)
Choosing a supplier. Yes. New York customers may buy their electricity supply from an Energy Service Company (ESCO) while the utility keeps delivering it and responding to emergencies, but there is no requirement to switch. Effective April 16, 2021, under PSC rules a residential variable-rate ESCO product must guarantee savings on an annual basis, a fixed-rate product is limited to the trailing 12-month average utility supply rate plus a premium of no more than 5%, and renewable products must meet Clean Energy Standard requirements (with no price cap or savings guarantee). Compare offers on the DPS Power to Choose website, linked from the DPS How to Shop for Energy Services page.
HEFPA says that in most situations the utility will provide service within five business days of receiving your application, and a verbal application only requires your name, address and telephone number plus the address and account number of any prior account. Con Edison says you will pay a deposit if you start service without ID; Orange & Rockland says the same unless you sign up for Direct Pay or are older than 62. The PSC consumer HELPLINE is 1-800-342-3377 (8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on business days).
Sources: dps.ny.gov, dps.ny.gov, dps.ny.gov, coned.com, coned.com, oru.com
Help paying an electric bill in New York
Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) — New York's LIHEAP
New York State Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance (OTDA), which HCR says receives the state's federal HEAP funds; DPS says to contact your county Department of Social Services or Office for the Aging, and New York City residents apply through HRA on ACCESS HRA
DPS describes HEAP as a federally funded program that provides grants to help low-income consumers pay for their energy costs; NYC HRA says Regular HEAP requires household gross monthly income at or below the current income guides for your household size. The 2025-2026 Regular HEAP benefit closed April 10, 2026, Emergency HEAP closed April 24, 2026, and the 2026-2027 Heating Equipment Repair and Replacement benefit opened October 1, 2026 (NYC HRA).
Sources: dps.ny.gov, nyc.gov, hcr.ny.gov, acf.gov
Weatherization Assistance Program (NYS WAP)
New York State Homes and Community Renewal (HCR), delivered through local NYS WAP providers
Income-eligible homeowners and some renters; you may qualify if household income is at or below 60% of state median income, and homeowners and renters pay no cost for services. Apply by contacting your local Weatherization Assistance Provider.
Sources: hcr.ny.gov, hcr.ny.gov
Energy Affordability Program (EAP)
Each regulated electric and gas utility, under NY Public Service Commission policy
Monthly bill discounts for households below state median income (area median income for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and National Grid Long Island customers), targeting an energy burden at or below six percent of household income; all large electric and gas utilities provide the discount to households that receive a HEAP benefit, and you may be enrolled automatically if you receive benefits from certain government assistance programs. Participants are automatically enrolled in budget billing and can opt out; apply through your utility or at nyeeap.com.
Source: dps.ny.gov
Each utility, as listed by the NY Department of Public Service
Varies by utility: Con Edison EnergyShare is for low-income residential customers experiencing financial difficulties and facing potential termination of service; PSEG Project Warmth is for financially struggling individuals and families unable to pay their heating bill; NYSEG and RG&E Project SHARE is for income-eligible customers with active disconnect notices.
Source: dps.ny.gov
NYSERDA (NY-Sun), with each electric utility enrolling eligible customers and applying the credit
NYSERDA says the program helps low-income households save on electricity for free by sharing discounts from local community solar projects: you are automatically enrolled if you are in your utility's Energy Assistance Program (EAP), your utility and service stay the same, and a clearly labeled monthly credit appears on your regular utility bill in addition to your EAP discount, with no upfront costs, monthly charges or fees. To start receiving it, join your utility's EAP (contact your utility to check eligibility); households that signed up between 2017 and 2024 likely enrolled in the Pilot Solar for All. NYSERDA's documentation panel lists an award letter dated within the last 12 months for EmPower+, HEAP, SNAP, TANF, Supplemental Security Income or utility assistance as one way to show income eligibility.
Source: nyserda.ny.gov
Programs that change what you pay
- Rooftop solar (net metering)available
- The New York State Public Service Commission established the Value of Distributed Energy Resources (VDER), or the Value Stack, to compensate energy from distributed energy resources like solar. Compensation comes as bill credits based on when and where a system delivers electricity to the grid — its Energy Value (LBMP), Capacity Value (ICAP), Environmental Value, Demand Reduction Value and Locational System Relief Value — and the utility allocates the monetary value of the energy produced to the offtaker's bill (for a community project, the developer tells the utility how to split credits among offtakers). NYSERDA lists the PSC's April 18, 2019 order as adding eligibility for Phase One Net Metering, and says LIPA's Long Island tariff effective August 1, 2019 closely aligns with the PSC's Value Stack orders.
Source: nyserda.ny.gov
- Community solaravailable
- Homeowners, renters, businesses and multifamily buildings can get the benefits of solar without installing panels: community solar projects generate renewable energy on behalf of multiple customers, who receive credits on their monthly electric bills for their share of the clean electricity produced. NYSERDA says most projects follow a subscription model with little to no upfront cost (a subset let customers purchase offsite panels), and that New York leads the U.S. in community solar capacity with more than 1,300 projects built as of March 2025.
Sources: nyserda.ny.gov, nyserda.ny.gov
- Time-of-use ratesavailable
- PSEG Long Island made the Time-of-Day Off-Peak Rate (Rate 194) the standard residential rate, with peak hours only 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. on weekdays and all other hours (including weekends and federal holidays) off-peak; it is not mandatory, and customers can choose the Flat Rate (Rate 180) or Super Off-Peak Rate (Rate 195) instead.
Source: psegliny.com
Questions people ask before moving to New York
How far ahead should I set up electricity before moving to New York?
It depends on the utility: National Grid asks for 5-7 days' notice and lets you schedule up to a week before you move, Orange & Rockland only accepts online start requests within 60 days of your start date, and Con Edison's online move tool requires a move-in date no more than 30 days out. Under HEFPA the utility will in most situations provide service within five business days of receiving your application.
Sources: nationalgridus.com, oru.com, coned.com, dps.ny.gov
Will I have to pay a deposit to start electric service in New York?
Usually not: HEFPA limits deposits to specific cases such as a shutoff for non-payment in the past six months, caps them at twice the average monthly bill, requires 20 days' written warning, and exempts public assistance and SSI recipients and customers 62 or older (unless shut off for non-payment in the past six months). Con Edison does require a deposit if you start service without identification; Orange & Rockland does too, unless you sign up for Direct Pay or are older than 62.
Sources: dps.ny.gov, coned.com, oru.com
Do I have to choose an electricity supplier (ESCO) in New York?
No; there is no requirement to switch, and your utility keeps delivering your energy and responding to all emergencies even if you switch to an ESCO. Since April 16, 2021, a residential variable-rate ESCO product must guarantee savings on an annual basis, a fixed-rate product is capped at the trailing 12-month average utility supply rate plus no more than 5%, and renewable products must meet Clean Energy Standard requirements; compare offers on the DPS Power to Choose website.
Sources: dps.ny.gov, dps.ny.gov, coned.com
I got a letter saying my town enrolled me with a new supplier — what is Community Choice Aggregation?
Since April 21, 2016 New York municipalities can run opt-out CCA programs that automatically enroll eligible residential and small-commercial accounts with the ESCO chosen under the program your municipality set up (the municipality or its CCA Administrator solicits bids and awards the supply contract); you still get one bill from your utility, only the supply section changes, and you can opt out by phone, online or mail by the date on the letter. The DPS FAQ template says there is never a fee for cancellation or opting out, but notes a program may add a fee after three billing cycles under the CCA Framework Order.
Sources: dps.ny.gov, dps.ny.gov
Why is my Con Edison bill split into supply and delivery charges?
Con Edison does not produce electricity; it buys the energy you use in competitive markets and passes that supply cost on to you, while delivery is set by the state Public Service Commission and is the only part of the bill that goes to Con Edison. If you choose another supplier, the bill shows how that cost compares to buying supply from Con Edison, and taxes are collected on behalf of state and local governments.
Researched 2026-10-15 from utility, regulator, and agency pages; every statement links to where it was read. Rules change: confirm deposits and program dates with the utility or agency before you rely on them.
Every state ranked by residential rate, updated weekly: Electricity Rates by State →